The Path Less Written

Three children played Candyland in the center of the living room floor.  They were surrounded by the debris of a day full of play and few adult interactions.

Charlotte pulled a double red card. “Yes,” she cheered.  “My favorite color is red.”

“Mine too,” said Fred.  “But I also like poopy.”  That caused Fred to develop a case of the giggles.

“Ew Fred, that is yucky,” said Bill as he picked the next card.  “I got blue.  I’m now in the lead.”  Spaceship sounds exploded from his lips as he moved his piece dramatically to its new space.

Fred was going to go, but doubt crept in and he looked at the door.

A man walked in through the door with a gun in his hand.

 

Geraldine pulled back from the computer screen and looked at me dumbfounded.  “What the hell?” she asked as she shook her head.  “What the hell were you smoking when you wrote that?”

“I wasn’t smoking anything.  I was just taking advice from Raymond Chandler when it came to being stuck in writing,” I said.

“And that is?” Geraldine asked.

I brought up a different window on my computer screen.  It read:  “When in doubt, have a man come through a door with a gun in his hand.” -Raymond Chandler”

Geraldine executed a perfect face palm.  “I don’t think he meant when children were playing a board game.”

“Really?  Then you better not read anymore,” I said.

“Why?” she asked.

“I used this quote as well,” I said as I bring up yet another window.

Geraldine leaned in and read, ““Writing a novel is actually searching for victims. As I write, I keep looking for casualties. The stories uncover the casualties.” -John Irving”  She put her head on the table and said, “Oh brother!”

2 thoughts on “The Path Less Written

  1. Wonderfully funny. I like your skill with writing dialogue to carry the plot.

Leave a Reply

