NaNoWriMo 2014

So I have decided to try the NaNoWriMo challenge this year.  I have a half written novel which I have been posting chapters on here (Never Short on Words), and I really want to finish it.  I have roughly 52,000 words as of starting the challenge, so I figure if I can complete NaNoWriMo (to be successful you need to write at least 50,000 more), then the novel would be done, or close enough it would be easy to cross the finish line.

I want to be able to say I have written a novel.  I remember when I was writing screenplays.  I thought the first screenplay or two were difficult to finish, but the more I wrote, the easier it became.  Just like running , once you know you can go the distance then the next time it should get a bit easier.

This means I will be publishing more on my progress here over the next month and less new stuff.  I feel sort of melancholy about that.  I enjoy publishing here six days a week.  My posting of word counts will not feel the same.  I don’t know how this will all shake out as the challenge goes on, but I hope you will be understanding with where this blog goes for the next 30 days.

When I finally finish it, what will I do next?  I hope to put it away for three months and then begin editing it.  I know the first novel most people write never gets published, so chances are mine will never see its way into a bookstore.  That said, you never know.  What I will be able to do is know I did it, and then maybe over the next three months I can write my second.  I love to write.  I love to create.  The biggest thing is finishing.  I do know I will go back to posting my fiction here, while starting that next novel.  :>)

I did 1,719 words today.  I am on track.  Now time to go to bed and recharge.  Tomorrow is another 1,666 words to go.  🙂  Good luck to all of you who are taking up the challenge!

Leave a Reply

